Looking for a retirement visa? New Zealand doesn't run one — its routes are built around employer sponsorship or active investment, not a pension-based stay. See other countries' guides

Stirling Falls dropping into Milford Sound, framed by steep forested cliffs
Country guide · New Zealand · Skilled work
New Zealand flag

Working in New Zealand: do you qualify?

Routes range from a working holiday to employer-sponsored skilled work and two actively managed investor tiers.

Job offer required
3 of 9 routes
Capital required
3 of 9 routes
Permanent residence
Open on 8 of 9 routes
Citizenship-eligible
5 yearsreported
Verified against the official immigration.govt.nz portal · 2026-08-29· Photo: Bernard Spragg. NZ / Wikimedia Commonsimmigration.govt.nz

When rules change mid-way, the date your application is filed is what often decides which rules apply to you. Where are you right now?

WHICH DOOR IS YOURS?

Two ways in, and New Zealand checks them differently

Backed by a sponsor

An employer, a government nomination or an approved body puts its name behind the application.

  • Accredited Employer Work Visa (AEWV)
  • New Zealand Skilled Migrant Category Resident Visa
  • New Zealand Straight to Residence Visa (Green List Tier 1)
Applied for on your own

You qualify on your own record — skills, points or capital — with no sponsor standing behind you.

  • Active Investor Plus BalancedNZ$10,000,000
  • Active Investor Plus GrowthNZ$5,000,000
  • Working Holiday VisaNZ$4,200
WHAT NEW ZEALAND ACTUALLY CHECKS

The conditions behind the routes above

Occupation & skills

Your degree, work experience or occupation has to clear a bar set for that specific route.

1 of 9 routes
New Zealand Straight to Residence Visa (Green List Tier 1)
Who backs the application

An employer, a government nomination, or an approved endorsing body has to stand behind the route.

4 of 9 routes
Accredited Employer Work Visa (AEWV)New Zealand Partner of a New Zealander Resident VisaNew Zealand Skilled Migrant Category Resident VisaNew Zealand Straight to Residence Visa (Green List Tier 1)
Issuing authority
Immigration New Zealand / Immigration New Zealand (INZ), part of the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE) + 2 more
Official source
Government + processing fees
NZ$6,450
PR / citizenship pathway
PR on 8/9 routes · Citizenship on 8/9
Who this fits
Young travellers wanting a temporary working stay rather than a long-term residence plan.Skilled workers who already have, or can secure, an employer willing to sponsor them.Investors ready to hold and actively manage a substantial New Zealand-based portfolio for several years, in exchange for a shorter path to residence.People weighing a broader mix of qualifying investment types against a narrower, business-focused one, since the two investor tracks differ in what counts.
9 PROGRAMMES

Pick a route, see the real commitment

Every official figure below is what Immimaps has verified for that route against New Zealand's official programme rules — not a marketing minimum. Service fees are what independent firms publish for the route, shown only once five or more are on file.

Structural requirement
Accredited Employer Work Visa (AEWV)

The main employer-sponsored route — the employer's own accreditation with Immigration New Zealand is checked before the worker's application is.

Service fees on fileNZD 1,950typical · middle half NZD 1,675–2,063 · 11 firmsvisa application only · tax excluded on 1 of 11, not stated on 10 · undated
Capital at risk
Active Investor Plus Balanced
NZ$10,000,000one-time

The broader of the two investor tracks — it accepts a wider range of asset types, including property development, in exchange for a longer hold.

5 years hold
Service fees on fileNZD 15,000–26,000lowest to highest · 3 firms on filefull package · tax not stated · undated
Capital at risk
Active Investor Plus Growth
NZ$5,000,000one-time

The narrower, business-focused investor track, with a shorter hold than Balanced and mandatory investment checkpoints along the way.

3 years hold
Service fees on fileBenchmark coming soon
Structural requirement
New Zealand Dependent Child Resident Visa (Family: Dependent Child Category)

Single status: not living with a partner in a genuine and stable partnership, irrespective of duration (F5.5.1).

Service fees on fileNZD 2,500typical · middle half NZD 2,300–3,000 · 5 firmsfull package · tax not stated · undated
Capital at risk
New Zealand Parent Resident Visa
Up to NZ$1,000,000one-time

Up to NZ$1,000,000 placed as capital, exposed until the 4 years hold period ends.

Depends on the option chosenOne option needs no capital4 years hold
Service fees on fileNZD 3,500typical · middle half NZD 3,000–4,000 · 5 firmsfull package · tax not stated · undated
Structural requirement
New Zealand Partner of a New Zealander Resident Visa

The New Zealand partner (sponsor) must be a citizen or resident, meet Partnership-Category character requirements, not be liable for deportation, not have a family-violence-related residence grant against them, and not exceed the sponsorship limit of one partner supported to residence per 5 years and two partners in total (F2.10).

Service fees on fileNZD 2,990typical · middle half NZD 2,563–3,475 · 8 firmsfull package · tax not stated · undated
Jobs, not capital
New Zealand Skilled Migrant Category Resident Visa

Current or offered skilled employment must be with an employer holding valid Immigration New Zealand accreditation (not suspended), full-time, and either permanent, fixed-term for at least 12 months, or a qualifying contract-for-services arrangement. Applies identically on all three pathways — each pathway additionally layers its own pay floor and skill-category test (see the pathway-specific entries). (Operational Manual, SR3.15.)

Service fees on fileNZD 3,500typical · middle half NZD 3,000–4,590 · 13 firmsfull package · tax excluded on 1 of 13, not stated on 12 · undated
Jobs, not capital
New Zealand Straight to Residence Visa (Green List Tier 1)

Current employment or a job offer in a Green List occupation -- Tier 1 for Straight to Residence; Tier 2 plus the 24-month work-experience prerequisite for Work to Residence -- with an accredited employer, meeting every occupation-specific pay, qualification or registration condition set out for that occupation in Appendix 13. Where the occupation's entry sets no pay rate, the job must pay at least NZD 35.00 an hour (the median wage, effective 9 March 2026); where the entry sets its own rate, that rate applies instead — for example NZD 45.50 an hour, or NZD 94,640 a year on a 40-hour week, for an External/Internal Auditor. For Tier 2 (Work to Residence): the wage floor is set per occupation as a multiple of the median wage, assessed retrospectively over the 24-month qualifying-work period, using the rate in force when each stretch of qualifying work began. Example multiples: 1.15x the median wage for Telecommunications Technician, 1.3x for Crane Operator, and 1.5x for Building Construction Supervisor. No single dollar figure is published for these multiples; the current rate for the specific occupation is in Appendix 13.

Service fees on fileNZD 3,000typical · middle half NZD 2,700–3,250 · 9 firmsfull package · tax not stated · undated
Threshold, not at risk
Working Holiday Visa
NZ$4,200one-time, shown — not held

A temporary stay for younger travellers, not a residence pathway — it doesn't lead toward permanent status the way the other three do.

Service fees on fileNZD 700typical · middle half NZD 600–850 · 5 firmsvisa application only · tax not stated · undated
COST, STAGE BY STAGE

What each route costs, stage by stage

Added up from the official figures on file for each route — split into money spent for good, money locked and returned later, and money shown but never transferred. Not a modelled estimate.

Accredited Employer Work Visa (AEWV)▾

At application

Decision — reported: 2 months.
  • Spent for goodGovernment fees on file: NZ$1,540, paid to the government for the initial application.
NZ$1,540 spent for good
Active Investor Plus Balanced▾

At application

Decision — reported: 4 months.
  • Spent for goodOfficial fees: NZ$21,590 – NZ$27,470, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • LockedNZ$10,000,000 placed as capital — recoverable in principle, exposed in practice.
NZ$27,470 spent for goodNZ$10,000,000 locked
Active Investor Plus Growth▾

At application

Decision — reported: 4 months.
  • Spent for goodOfficial fees: NZ$21,590 – NZ$27,470, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • LockedNZ$5,000,000 placed as capital — recoverable in principle, exposed in practice.
NZ$27,470 spent for goodNZ$5,000,000 locked
New Zealand Dependent Child Resident Visa (Family: Dependent Child Category)▾

At application

Decision — reported: 7 months.
  • Spent for goodOfficial fees: NZ$3,230, paid to the government for the initial application.
NZ$3,230 spent for good
New Zealand Parent Resident Visa▾

At application

Decision — reported: 4 months.
  • Spent for goodGovernment fees on file: NZ$6,260 – NZ$13,300, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Shown, never leaves youNZ$109,200 shown as proof of means every year — nothing is transferred.
NZ$13,300 spent for goodNZ$109,200 shown, never leaves you

3 ways to qualify — shown: the cheapest. Alternatives: NZ$450 + NZ$109,200 + NZ$5,810 (shown) / NZ$60,000 + NZ$1,000,000 + NZ$12,850 + NZ$500,000 / NZ$450 + NZ$145,600 + NZ$5,810.

New Zealand Partner of a New Zealander Resident Visa▾

At application

Decision — reported: 7 months.
  • Spent for goodGovernment fees on file: NZ$5,360, paid to the government for the initial application.
NZ$5,360 spent for good
New Zealand Skilled Migrant Category Resident Visa▾

At application

Decision — reported: 4 months.
  • Spent for goodOfficial fees: NZ$5,430 – NZ$6,450, paid to the government for the initial application.
NZ$6,450 spent for good
New Zealand Straight to Residence Visa (Green List Tier 1)▾

At application

Decision — reported: 3 months.
  • Spent for goodOfficial fees: NZ$5,430 – NZ$6,450, paid to the government for the initial application.
NZ$6,450 spent for good
Working Holiday Visa▾

At application

Decision — reported: 0 months.
  • Spent for goodGovernment fees on file: NZ$770, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Shown, never leaves youNZ$4,200 shown as proof of means — nothing is transferred.
NZ$770 spent for goodNZ$4,200 shown, never leaves you
Stirling Falls dropping into Milford Sound, framed by steep forested cliffs
Stirling Falls, Milford SoundPhoto: Bernard Spragg. NZ / Wikimedia Commons
HOW THE PROCESS UNFOLDS

The order New Zealand Skilled Migrant Category Resident Visa follows

01
Processing
Immigration New Zealand (INZ), Te Ratonga Manene, within the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE) reviews the application and issues a decision.
reported: 4 months
02
Residency permit issued
Grants permanent status directly.
03
PR-eligible
The residency permit becomes eligible to convert to permanent status.
reported: 2 years
04
Citizenship-eligible
Eligible to apply for citizenship, subject to the country's standard requirements.
reported: 5 years
05
Renewal
Renewable — The initial Resident Visa carries travel conditions that expire 2 years after the holder first arrives in New Zealand as a resident (or the date of grant, if already in New Zealand). The holder must obtain a Permanent Resident Visa, or an extension of travel conditions, to keep travelling freely after that point; being outside New Zealand when travel conditions expire causes the visa itself to lapse..
reported: 2 years
This shows the order New Zealand Skilled Migrant Category Resident Visa follows, not a promised timeline. Any duration shown is what the official source reports as typical — not a guarantee for any individual case.
Did the rules change in 2026? Yes.
  • 2026-06-01From 1 June 2026, Active Investor Plus Growth applicants can count philanthropic giving toward part of their required investment, capped at 20% of the total, alongside the existing business and fund options. source
Check the immigration.govt.nz portal directly →
Not sure which of the nine you'd clear?

Strategy Path takes your occupation, your situation and whether you have an employer, and lays the route out step by step — cost, milestone and wait on each leg.

Map my routeAccount needed
General information only

This page sets out the published rules. It does not read your documents or check your figures: advice on your own application should come from a licensed immigration adviser or a lawyer.

To check that an adviser is registered, use the Immigration Advisers Authority's register of licensed advisers.

Working with an agent or adviser in New Zealand?

Verify them on the official register before you sign anything. Registration confirms a licence — it does not by itself guarantee good advice.

Every official figure on this page is checked against New Zealand's official immigration sources. Service fees are what independent firms publish for a route — not an official figure, and never any one firm's price. Immimaps does not publish success rates, approval odds or any probability score — here or anywhere else.

Don’t take a life-changing move on someone else’s word.

Immimaps is not an agency and takes no placement fees. We show the real figures on every route, show the working, and tell you what it actually costs.

Get your country matches
No agency commissions · Sources shown on every figure
Get your country matches