Rule changes
  • From 4 January 2027: From January 2027 Indonesian applicants need a tuberculosis-free certificate.
  • From 1 April 2027: Japan issues permanent-resident revocation guideline.
  • From 1 April 2027: Japan revises permanent residence guidelines, adding income, pension, Japanese-language and rules-knowledge criteria.
  • Since 1 October 2026: Japan lets hardship cases pay reduced or no residence-permit fees.

Looking for a retirement visa? Japan doesn't run one — its routes require a job offer, a registered business you actively run, or a company transfer. See other countries' guides

Shinjuku skyline of high-rise towers in Tokyo seen in daylight
Country guide · Japan · Skilled work
Japan flag

Working in Japan: do you qualify?

A work-based system with several specialist tracks, and a distinctly long road to permanent residence.

Job offer required
7 of 8 routes
Capital required
1 of 8 routes
Permanent residence
Open on 6 of 8 routes
Citizenship-eligible
10 yearsreported
Verified against the official moj.go.jp portal · 2026-08-29· Photo: Luke Ma / Wikimedia Commonsmoj.go.jp

When rules change mid-way, the date your application is filed is what often decides which rules apply to you. Where are you right now?

WHICH DOOR IS YOURS?

Two ways in, and Japan checks them differently

Backed by a sponsor

An employer, a government nomination or an approved body puts its name behind the application.

  • Engineer/Specialist in Humanities
  • Highly Skilled Professional Visa (HSP)
  • Intra-company Transferee
  • Japan Technical Intern Training Program (技能実習制度)
  • Japan — Digital Nomad Visa (特定活動, Designated Activities)
  • Japan — Nursing Care status of residence (介護, Kaigo)
  • Japan — Specified Skilled Worker (特定技能, Tokutei Ginō) (i) and (ii)
Applied for on your own

You qualify on your own record — skills, points or capital — with no sponsor standing behind you.

  • Business Manager Visa¥30,000,000
WHAT JAPAN ACTUALLY CHECKS

The conditions behind the routes above

Occupation & skills

Your degree, work experience or occupation has to clear a bar set for that specific route.

1 of 8 routes
Highly Skilled Professional Visa (HSP)
Points test

Age, education, experience and language each add up to a score — you need to clear the pass mark.

1 of 8 routes
Highly Skilled Professional Visa (HSP)
Who backs the application

An employer, a government nomination, or an approved endorsing body has to stand behind the route.

6 of 8 routes
Engineer/Specialist in HumanitiesIntra-company TransfereeJapan Technical Intern Training Program (技能実習制度)Japan — Digital Nomad Visa (特定活動, Designated Activities)Japan — Nursing Care status of residence (介護, Kaigo)Japan — Specified Skilled Worker (特定技能, Tokutei Ginō) (i) and (ii)
Issuing authority
Immigration Services Agency of Japan / Immigration Services Agency of Japan (出入国在留管理庁, ISA/MOJ) — status of residence decisions; Organization for Technical Intern Training (外国人技能実習機構, OTIT) — training-plan accreditation, supervising-organization licensing, inspections, and trainee protection; Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare (MHLW) — joint competent ministry. + 3 more
Official source
Government + processing fees
¥48,000
PR / citizenship pathway
PR on 6/8 routes · Citizenship on 7/8
Who this fits
Professionals in engineering, IT, or other specialist office roles with a Japan-based employer.Highly qualified candidates who score well on Japan's points-based professional track.Employees being transferred to a Japanese branch or affiliate of their existing employer.Entrepreneurs setting up and running a company in Japan.
8 PROGRAMMES

Pick a route, see the real commitment

Every official figure below is what Immimaps has verified for that route against Japan's official programme rules — not a marketing minimum. Service fees are what independent firms publish for the route, shown only once five or more are on file.

Capital at risk
Business Manager Visa
¥30,000,000one-time

For founders and managers actively running a registered business in Japan, with capital and operating requirements to meet.

Service fees on fileJPY 330,000typical · middle half JPY 183,500–351,000 · 7 firmsvisa application only · tax included on 2 of 7, excluded on 1, not stated on 4 · dated 2024
Check a quote for this route
Structural requirement
Engineer/Specialist in Humanities

The common route for office professionals — engineers, marketers, translators, and similar specialist roles — sponsored by a Japanese employer.

Service fees on fileJPY 120,000typical · middle half JPY 96,000–131,000 · 7 firmsfull package · tax included on 5 of 7, not stated on 2 · dated 2024–2026
Check a quote for this route
Structural requirement
Highly Skilled Professional Visa (HSP)

A points-based track for high-qualification candidates that can shorten the path to permanent residence substantially.

Service fees on fileJPY 117,500typical · middle half JPY 99,000–132,000 · 9 firmsmixed scope, visa application only to one stage only · tax included on 4 of 9, not stated on 5 · dated 2022–2026
Check a quote for this route
Jobs, not capital
Intra-company Transferee

For employees transferring to a Japanese office of the same company they already work for abroad.

Service fees on fileJPY 132,000typical · middle half JPY 88,000–132,000 · 5 firmsmixed scope, visa application only to full package · tax included on 4 of 5, not stated on 1 · undated
Check a quote for this route
Jobs, not capital
Japan Technical Intern Training Program (技能実習制度)

Sponsorship takes the form of an OTIT-accredited training plan at a specific implementing organization, plus, for the group-supervision type, a licensed supervising organization, plus a recognized sending organization in the home country under a Japan Memorandum of Cooperation.

Service fees on fileBenchmark coming soon
Check a quote for this route
Jobs, not capital
Japan — Digital Nomad Visa (特定活動, Designated Activities)

An employee of a foreign company or organisation working remotely for its office outside Japan, or a business owner or sole proprietor providing paid services or selling goods to people outside Japan, through information and communication technology. Proof of current employment, such as an employment contract or certificate. No employment or service contract with a Japanese organisation or person is allowed.

Service fees on fileBenchmark coming soon
Check a quote for this route
Jobs, not capital
Japan — Nursing Care status of residence (介護, Kaigo)

Pay at least equal to what a Japanese worker doing the same job receives. No fixed yen figure is set.

Service fees on fileBenchmark coming soon
Check a quote for this route
Jobs, not capital
Japan — Specified Skilled Worker (特定技能, Tokutei Ginō) (i) and (ii)

Full-time work for one employer, with pay equal to or above what a Japanese worker doing the same job receives; where there is no comparable Japanese worker, pay is compared with similar businesses. No fixed yen figure is set. A second job or part-time work for another company is not allowed.

Service fees on fileBenchmark coming soon
Check a quote for this route
COST, STAGE BY STAGE

What each route costs, stage by stage

Added up from the official figures on file for each route — split into money spent for good, money locked and returned later, and money shown but never transferred. Not a modelled estimate.

Business Manager Visa▾

At application

  • Spent for goodOfficial fees: ¥15,000 – ¥30,000, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Locked¥30,000,000 placed as capital — recoverable in principle, exposed in practice.
¥30,000 spent for good¥30,000,000 locked
Engineer/Specialist in Humanities▾

At application

Decision — reported: 1 month.
  • Spent for goodOfficial fees: ¥15,000 – ¥30,000, paid to the government for the initial application.
¥30,000 spent for good
Highly Skilled Professional Visa (HSP)▾

At application

Decision — reported: 1 month.
  • Spent for goodOfficial fees: ¥15,000 – ¥30,000, paid to the government for the initial application.
¥30,000 spent for good
Intra-company Transferee▾

At application

Decision — reported: 1 month.
  • Spent for goodOfficial fees: ¥15,000 – ¥30,000, paid to the government for the initial application.
¥30,000 spent for good
Japan Technical Intern Training Program (技能実習制度)▾

At application

Decision — reported: 2 months.
  • Spent for goodOfficial fees: ¥5,500 – ¥15,000, paid to the government for the initial application.
¥15,000 spent for good
Japan — Digital Nomad Visa (特定活動, Designated Activities)▾

At application

  • Spent for goodGovernment fees on file: ¥15,000 – ¥30,000, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Shown, never leaves you¥10,000,000 shown as proof of means every year — nothing is transferred.
¥30,000 spent for good¥10,000,000 shown, never leaves you
Japan — Nursing Care status of residence (介護, Kaigo)▾

At application

Decision — reported: 2 months.
  • Spent for goodGovernment fees on file: ¥15,000, paid to the government for the initial application.
¥15,000 spent for good

2 ways to qualify — shown: the cheapest. Alternatives: ¥15,000 (shown) / ¥33,000.

Japan — Specified Skilled Worker (特定技能, Tokutei Ginō) (i) and (ii)▾

At application

Decision — reported: 2 months.
  • Spent for goodGovernment fees on file: ¥15,000, paid to the government for the initial application.
¥15,000 spent for good

2 ways to qualify — shown: the cheapest. Alternatives: ¥15,000 (shown) / ¥33,000.

Shinjuku skyline of high-rise towers in Tokyo seen in daylight
Shinjuku, TokyoPhoto: Luke Ma / Wikimedia Commons
HOW THE PROCESS UNFOLDS

The order Japan — Specified Skilled Worker (特定技能, Tokutei Ginō) (i) and (ii) follows

01
Processing
Immigration Services Agency of Japan (出入国在留管理庁) and its Regional Immigration Services Bureaus decide the Certificate of Eligibility, change of status, extensions and permanent residence, register support organisations and oversee employers; the ministry responsible for each field (MHLW, METI, MLIT, MAFF or the Ministry of the Environment) runs that field's skills tests and council; Japanese embassies and consulates (Ministry of Foreign Affairs) issue the visa; the Japan Foundation runs the JFT-Basic Japanese test reviews the application and issues a decision.
reported: 2 months
02
Residency permit issued
Renewable.
reported: 3 years
03
PR-eligible
The residency permit becomes eligible to convert to permanent status.
reported: 10 years
04
Citizenship-eligible
Eligible to apply for citizenship, subject to the country's standard requirements.
reported: 10 years
05
Renewal
Renewable — Specified Skilled Worker (i) is capped at 5 years in total, or 6 years where the Immigration Services Agency accepts there are reasonable grounds; time unable to work because of pregnancy, childbirth, childcare or other unavoidable situations is not counted. Apply for an extension before the current period ends. The fee from 1 October 2026 depends on the period granted, JPY 33,000 at the counter for 1 year..
reported: 5 years
This shows the order Japan — Specified Skilled Worker (特定技能, Tokutei Ginō) (i) and (ii) follows, not a promised timeline. Any duration shown is what the official source reports as typical — not a guarantee for any individual case.
Did the rules change in 2026?

No confirmed rule change has been flagged for Japan since it was last checked against the official moj.go.jp portal on 2026-08-29. Immimaps keeps watching official immigration sources and will list dated changes here as soon as one is confirmed.

Check the moj.go.jp portal directly →
Not sure which of the eight you'd clear?

Strategy Path takes your occupation, your situation and whether you have an employer, and lays the route out step by step — cost, milestone and wait on each leg.

Map my routeAccount needed
Already holding a job offer or an agent's quote?

Upload it and Immimaps checks it against what Japan's official programme actually requires, and reads the contract clause by clause. Free, no account.

Check my document

Every official figure on this page is checked against Japan's official immigration sources. Service fees are what independent firms publish for a route — not an official figure, and never any one firm's price. Immimaps does not publish success rates, approval odds or any probability score — here or anywhere else.

Don’t take a life-changing move on someone else’s word.

Immimaps is not an agency and takes no placement fees. We show the real figures on every route, show the working, and tell you what it actually costs.

Get your country matches
No agency commissions · Sources shown on every figure
Get your country matches