Uruguay doesn't run a dedicated digital nomad or student visa route — its residency routes are built around investment and retirement income instead. See other countries' guides

Historic stone walls and bastion of Colonia del Sacramento's old town
Country guide · Uruguay · Living there long-term
Uruguay flag

Uruguay, at your own pace.

Uruguay keeps its residency system small: only a handful of routes exist, built almost entirely around investment or a documented retirement income rather than employment or study.

Verified against the official migracion.minterior.gub.uy portal · 2026-08-29· Photo: Claudia Garay / Wikimedia Commonsmigracion.minterior.gub.uy

When rules change mid-way, the date your application is filed is what often decides which rules apply to you. Where are you right now?

Start here

Pick by how you live

3 routes, grouped by what Uruguay's system asks of you day to day — not by which visa is most talked about. Every figure below is what Immimaps has verified against Uruguay's official programme rules.

I'm retired, or nearly

A pension or other steady income from outside the country, and no plan to take a local job.

Permanent Legal Residency for Retirees
$100,000one-time
Capital at risk
The thing agencies don't say plainly

Most of these sums are shown, not spent.

On most remote-work and retirement routes, the figure is proof of means — it sits in your own account until it's checked, and nothing is transferred. Routes where money genuinely moves are marked below.

0

routes ask you to show a balance or income — once it's checked, it stays yours.

3

routes place capital that is exposed until the hold period or conditions are met.

Staying on

What keeping the visa actually asks of you

Settling for good
Both open on every route

Counted from each route's own rules. Some routes lead to permanent residence or citizenship and some don't; the route cards below say which.

Issuing authority
Dirección Nacional de Migración / Dirección Nacional de Migración (DNM)
PR / citizenship pathway
Both open on every route
Who this fits
Retirees with a steady pension or foreign-source income who also have funds to put into local property or bondsInvestors putting capital into a Uruguayan business and creating local jobsProperty buyers looking for a residency route tied to a real-estate purchaseNot a fit for remote workers or students — Uruguay doesn't currently run a dedicated route for either
3 PROGRAMMES

Pick a route, see the real commitment

Every official figure below is what Immimaps has verified for that route against Uruguay's official programme rules — not a marketing minimum. Service fees are what independent firms publish for the route, shown only once five or more are on file.

Capital at risk
Investor Visa Business
$2,270,000one-time

For putting capital into a Uruguayan company and creating a meaningful number of new local jobs — passive shareholding without job creation doesn't qualify.

Service fees on fileUSD 2,800typical · middle half USD 1,400–3,113 · 6 firmsfull package · tax not stated · undated
Check a proposal for this route
Capital at risk
Investor Visa Real Estate
$578,000one-time

The property-purchase route to residency — note that the investment level needed to also unlock Uruguay's long tax holiday is set separately, and is considerably higher than the residency threshold alone.

Service fees on fileUSD 2,599typical · middle half USD 1,250–3,075 · 7 firmsfull package · tax not stated · undated
Check a proposal for this route
Capital at risk
Permanent Legal Residency for Retirees
$100,000one-time

Requires both a qualifying pension or foreign income and a matching investment in Uruguayan real estate or government bonds, held under the program's rules — the two conditions apply together, not as alternatives.

10 years hold
Service fees on fileUSD 2,800typical · middle half USD 1,400–3,113 · 6 firmsfull package · tax not stated · undated
Check a proposal for this route
COST, STAGE BY STAGE

What each route costs, stage by stage

Added up from the official figures on file for each route — split into money spent for good, money locked and returned later, and money shown but never transferred. Not a modelled estimate.

Investor Visa Business▾

At application

Decision — reported: 5 months.
  • Spent for goodEstimated government fees, shown not graded: $98 – $105, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Locked$2,270,000 placed as capital — recoverable in principle, exposed in practice.
$105 spent for good$2,270,000 locked
Investor Visa Real Estate▾

At application

Decision — reported: 3 months.
  • Spent for goodEstimated government fees, shown not graded: $98 – $105, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Locked$578,000 placed as capital — recoverable in principle, exposed in practice.
$105 spent for good$578,000 locked
Permanent Legal Residency for Retirees▾

At application

Decision — reported: 1 month.
  • Spent for goodGovernment fees on file: $95, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Shown, never leaves you$1,500 shown as proof of means every month — nothing is transferred.
  • Locked$100,000 placed as capital — recoverable in principle, exposed in practice.
$95 spent for good$100,000 locked$1,500 shown, never leaves you
Historic stone walls and bastion of Colonia del Sacramento's old town
The old city walls, Colonia del SacramentoPhoto: Claudia Garay / Wikimedia Commons
HOW THE PROCESS UNFOLDS

The order Permanent Legal Residency for Retirees follows

Processing
Dirección Nacional de Migración reviews the application and issues a decision.
reported: 1 month
Residency permit issued
Valid for the permit period.
reported: 2 years
PR-eligible
The residency permit becomes eligible to convert to permanent status.
reported: 0 months
Citizenship-eligible
Eligible to apply for citizenship, subject to the country's standard requirements.
reported: 3 years
This shows the order Permanent Legal Residency for Retirees follows, not a promised timeline. Any duration shown is what the official source reports as typical — not a guarantee for any individual case.
Did the rules change in 2026?
  • 2026-01-01Uruguay's 2026 national budget law raised the investment level needed to also qualify for the country's long tax exemption on foreign income through the real-estate route — a separate, much higher bar than the amount that qualifies for residency alone. Anyone weighing this route should check which of the two thresholds actually applies to them. source
Check the migracion.minterior.gub.uy portal directly →
What would a year in Uruguay actually cost you?

The cost calculator separates money spent for good from money that's only shown or locked up.

Open the cost calculator
Been handed a visa package or agent's offer?

Upload it and Immimaps checks it against what Uruguay's official programme actually requires, and reads the contract clause by clause. Free, no account.

Check my document

Every official figure on this page is checked against Uruguay's official immigration sources. Service fees are what independent firms publish for a route — not an official figure, and never any one firm's price. Immimaps does not publish success rates, approval odds or any probability score — here or anywhere else.

Don’t take a life-changing move on someone else’s word.

Immimaps is not an agency and takes no placement fees. We show the real figures on every route, show the working, and tell you what it actually costs.

Get your country matches
No agency commissions · Sources shown on every figure
Get your country matches