Rule changes
  • Since 8 October 2026: a new condition for applicants already holding permission on another basis.

Looking for a retirement visa? The UK doesn't run one — its routes are built around a job offer, a recognized talent endorsement, or a UK degree. See other countries' guides

London's skyline seen across the river from Greenwich Park
Country guide · United Kingdom · Skilled work
United Kingdom flag

Working in the United Kingdom: do you qualify?

Work, care, study, and talent routes into one of the world's largest economies, each with its own sponsor and eligibility rules.

Job offer required
2 of 11 routes
Capital required
None, on any route
Permanent residence
Open on 8 of 11 routes
Citizenship-eligible
3 yearsreported
Verified against the official gov.uk portal · 2026-08-29· Photo: Farbades420 / Wikimedia Commonsgov.uk

When rules change mid-way, the date your application is filed is what often decides which rules apply to you. Where are you right now?

WHICH DOOR IS YOURS?

Two ways in, and United Kingdom checks them differently

Backed by a sponsor

An employer, a government nomination or an approved body puts its name behind the application.

  • Health and Care Worker Visa£1,270
  • Skilled Worker Visa£41,700
Applied for on your own

You qualify on your own record — skills, points or capital — with no sponsor standing behind you.

  • Global Talent Visa
  • Graduate Visa
  • Innovator Founder Visa
WHAT UNITED KINGDOM ACTUALLY CHECKS

The conditions behind the routes above

Occupation & skills

Your degree, work experience or occupation has to clear a bar set for that specific route.

2 of 11 routes
Graduate VisaUnited Kingdom — Private Life Route (Immigration Rules Appendix Private Life)
Who backs the application

An employer, a government nomination, or an approved endorsing body has to stand behind the route.

5 of 11 routes
Global Talent VisaGraduate VisaInnovator Founder VisaSkilled Worker VisaUnited Kingdom Adult Dependent Relative Visa
Issuing authority
UK Visas and Immigration, Home Office / UK Visas and Immigration (UKVI), Home Office — Entry Clearance Officers (ECOs), operating through the overseas visa-application-centre network, decide entry-clearance applications; Home Office in-country caseworkers decide further-permission-to-stay and settlement applications under the same Appendix. + 5 more
Official source
Government + processing fees
£3,099
PR / citizenship pathway
PR on 8/11 routes · Citizenship on 9/11
Who this fits
Skilled professionals with a job offer from a licensed UK sponsor that meets the route's salary and skill-level bar.Care workers and health professionals recruited into the UK's health and social care system.Recent graduates of a UK university who want to stay on and work without needing a sponsor first.Founders and people recognized as leaders or promising talents in academia, research, arts, or digital technology.
11 PROGRAMMES

Pick a route, see the real commitment

Every official figure below is what Immimaps has verified for that route against United Kingdom's official programme rules — not a marketing minimum. Service fees are what independent firms publish for the route, shown only once five or more are on file.

Jobs, not capital
Global Talent Visa

For people already recognized, or on a clear path to recognition, as leaders in academia, research, arts and culture, or digital technology.

Service fees on fileGBP 6,125typical · middle half GBP 4,313–7,500 · 8 firmsmixed scope, visa application only to full package · tax excluded on 6 of 8, not stated on 2 · dated 2026
Structural requirement
Graduate Visa

No sponsor needed — open to international students who've just completed a UK degree, for a fixed post-study period.

Service fees on fileGBP 2,500typical · middle half GBP 1,400–3,000 · 5 firmsmixed scope, visa application only to full package · tax excluded · dated 2026
Threshold, not at risk
Health and Care Worker Visa
£1,270one-time, shown — not held

A dedicated route for health and social care roles, with its own lower salary thresholds reflecting sector pay.

Service fees on fileGBP 1,612typical · middle half GBP 1,337–2,056 · 6 firmsvisa application only · tax included on 1 of 6, excluded on 3, not stated on 2 · dated 2026
Jobs, not capital
Innovator Founder Visa

For founders with an endorsed business idea — there's no fixed investment amount, but the endorsing body has to judge the funding realistic.

Service fees on fileGBP 6,250typical · middle half GBP 3,500–6,500 · 5 firmsmixed scope, visa application only to full package · tax excluded · dated 2026
Threshold, not at risk
Skilled Worker Visa
£41,700/ year, shown — not held

The main employer-sponsored route — needs a job offer from a licensed sponsor meeting the route's salary and skill-level bar.

Service fees on fileGBP 2,125typical · middle half GBP 1,850–3,650 · 7 firmsvisa application only · tax excluded on 2 of 7, not stated on 5 · dated 2025–2026
Structural requirement
United Kingdom Adult Dependent Relative Visa

The applicant must be the sponsor's parent, grandparent, adult son or daughter, or adult brother or sister (ADR 4.1), evidenced by birth or adoption certificates or other satisfactory evidence.

Service fees on fileBenchmark coming soon
Threshold, not at risk
United Kingdom — Appendix FM Partner Visa (Spouse / Civil Partner / Unmarried Partner / Fiancé(e) of a British Citizen or Settled Person)
£29,000/ year, shown — not held

£29,000 shown as proof of means — nothing is transferred.

Depends on the option chosen
Service fees on fileGBP 4,000typical · middle half GBP 1,650–6,500 · 9 firmsmixed scope, visa application only to full package · tax included on 1 of 9, excluded on 8 · dated 2025–2026
Structural requirement
United Kingdom — British Citizenship by Descent and Registration (Ancestry Claims: BNA 1981 s.2, s.3, s.4C, s.4F–s.4L)

UK-residence evidence, required only for the s.3(2)/s.3(5) routes (not applicable to automatic s.2 citizenship, s.4C, Form UKF, or s.4L). Proof that the qualifying parent(s) were in the UK for the relevant 3-year period with no more than 270 days' total absence, and, for s.3(5), that the child was physically in the UK exactly 3 years before the date the Home Office receives the application.

Service fees on fileBenchmark coming soon
Threshold, not at risk
United Kingdom — High Potential Individual visa
£1,270one-time, shown — not held

£1,270 shown as proof of means — nothing is transferred.

Service fees on fileGBP 3,150typical · middle half GBP 2,000–3,500 · 5 firmsmixed scope, visa application only to full package · tax excluded on 3 of 5, not stated on 2 · dated 2026
Structural requirement
United Kingdom — Private Life Route (Immigration Rules Appendix Private Life)

Required only at the settlement stage, not for the initial grant of permission to stay. CEFR B1 (speaking and listening) for settlement applications made before 26 March 2027; CEFR B2 from that date, unless an exemption under Appendix English Language applies (PL 16.1-16.2).

Service fees on fileBenchmark coming soon
Threshold, not at risk
United Kingdom — Youth Mobility Scheme visa
£2,530one-time, shown — not held

£2,530 shown as proof of means — nothing is transferred.

Service fees on fileBenchmark coming soon
COST, STAGE BY STAGE

What each route costs, stage by stage

Added up from the official figures on file for each route — split into money spent for good, money locked and returned later, and money shown but never transferred. Not a modelled estimate.

Global Talent Visa▾

At application

Decision — reported: 1 month.
  • Spent for goodOfficial fees: £766, paid to the government for the initial application.
£766 spent for good
Graduate Visa▾

At application

Decision — reported: 1 month.
  • Spent for goodOfficial fees: £937, paid to the government for the initial application.
£937 spent for good
Health and Care Worker Visa▾

At application

Decision — reported: 1 month.
  • Spent for goodOfficial fees: £324 – £628, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Shown, never leaves you£1,270 shown as proof of means — nothing is transferred.
£628 spent for good£1,270 shown, never leaves you
Innovator Founder Visa▾

At application

Decision — reported: 1 month.
  • Spent for goodOfficial fees: £1,357 – £1,693, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Shown, never leaves you£1,270 shown as proof of means — nothing is transferred.
£1,693 spent for good£1,270 shown, never leaves you
Skilled Worker Visa▾

At application

Decision — reported: 1 month.
  • Spent for goodOfficial fees: £819 – £1,865, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Shown, never leaves you£41,700 shown as proof of means every year — nothing is transferred.
  • Shown, never leaves you£1,270 shown as proof of means — nothing is transferred.
£1,865 spent for good£41,700 shown, never leaves you
United Kingdom Adult Dependent Relative Visa▾

At application

  • Spent for goodOfficial fees: £452 – £3,635, paid to the government for the initial application.
£3,635 spent for good
United Kingdom — Appendix FM Partner Visa (Spouse / Civil Partner / Unmarried Partner / Fiancé(e) of a British Citizen or Settled Person)▾

At application

  • Spent for goodOfficial fees: £2,064, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Shown, never leaves you£29,000 shown as proof of means every year — nothing is transferred.
£2,064 spent for good£29,000 shown, never leaves you

2 ways to qualify — shown: the cheapest. Alternatives: £29,000 (shown) / £88,500.

United Kingdom — British Citizenship by Descent and Registration (Ancestry Claims: BNA 1981 s.2, s.3, s.4C, s.4F–s.4L)▾

At application

Decision — reported: 6 months.
  • Spent for goodOfficial fees: £1,000 – £1,670, paid to the government for the initial application.
£1,670 spent for good

2 ways to qualify — shown: the cheapest. Alternatives: £1,000 (shown) / £1,540.

United Kingdom — High Potential Individual visa▾

At application

Decision — reported: 1 month.
  • Spent for good£252 fee — spent, not held.
  • Spent for good£880 fee — spent, not held.
  • Shown, never leaves you£1,270 shown as proof of means — nothing is transferred.
£1,132 spent for good£1,270 shown, never leaves you

Government fees not on file for this route.

United Kingdom — Private Life Route (Immigration Rules Appendix Private Life)▾

At application

Decision — reported: 1 year.
  • Spent for goodOfficial fees: £1,407, paid to the government for the initial application.
£1,407 spent for good
United Kingdom — Youth Mobility Scheme visa▾

At application

Decision — reported: 1 month.
  • Spent for goodOfficial fees: £340, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Shown, never leaves you£2,530 shown as proof of means — nothing is transferred.

At renewal

Renewal — reported: 1 year.
  • Spent for good£776 fee — spent, not held.
£1,116 spent for good£2,530 shown, never leaves you
London's skyline seen across the river from Greenwich Park
London, seen from Greenwich ParkPhoto: Farbades420 / Wikimedia Commons
HOW THE PROCESS UNFOLDS

The order Health and Care Worker Visa follows

01
Processing
UK Visas and Immigration, Home Office reviews the application and issues a decision.
reported: 1 month
02
PR-eligible
The residency permit becomes eligible to convert to permanent status.
reported: 5 years
03
Citizenship-eligible
Eligible to apply for citizenship, subject to the country's standard requirements.
reported: 6 years
This shows the order Health and Care Worker Visa follows, not a promised timeline. Any duration shown is what the official source reports as typical — not a guarantee for any individual case.
Did the rules change in 2026? Yes.
  • 2025-07-22The general salary threshold for the Skilled Worker visa rose to £41,700 per year (or the job's 'going rate', whichever is higher), alongside a return to a higher required skill level, as part of a wider July 2025 overhaul of sponsored work routes. source
Check the gov.uk portal directly →
Not sure which of the 11 you'd clear?

Strategy Path takes your occupation, your situation and whether you have an employer, and lays the route out step by step — cost, milestone and wait on each leg.

Map my routeAccount needed
General information only

This page sets out the published rules. It does not read your documents or check your figures: advice on your own application should come from an adviser registered with the Immigration Advice Authority, or a regulated lawyer.

To check that an adviser is registered, use the Immigration Advice Authority's adviser finder.

Working with an agent or adviser in United Kingdom?

Verify them on the official register before you sign anything. Registration confirms a licence — it does not by itself guarantee good advice.

Every official figure on this page is checked against United Kingdom's official immigration sources. Service fees are what independent firms publish for a route — not an official figure, and never any one firm's price. Immimaps does not publish success rates, approval odds or any probability score — here or anywhere else.

Don’t take a life-changing move on someone else’s word.

Immimaps is not an agency and takes no placement fees. We show the real figures on every route, show the working, and tell you what it actually costs.

Get your country matches
No agency commissions · Sources shown on every figure
Get your country matches