The Alhambra palace and fortress complex on its hilltop above Granada, with the Sierra Nevada mountains behind it
Country guide · Spain · Living there long-term
Spain flag

Spain, at your own pace.

Spain's Non-Lucrative Visa is built for people who can support themselves without earning any income inside the country — retirees, people living off savings, and anyone whose income comes entirely from outside Spain.

Verified against the official inclusion.gob.es portal · 2026-08-31· Photo: Pincho76 / Wikimedia Commonsinclusion.gob.es

When rules change mid-way, the date your application is filed is what often decides which rules apply to you. Where are you right now?

Start here

Pick by how you live

4 routes, grouped by what Spain's system asks of you day to day — not by which visa is most talked about. Every figure below is what Immimaps has verified against Spain's official programme rules.

I work remotely

Your income comes from employers or clients outside the country. You don't want a local employer, and you don't need one.

Spain Digital Nomad Visa (Visado para Teletrabajadores de Carácter Internacional)
€2,442/ month, shown — not held
Threshold, not at risk
I'm retired, or nearly

A pension or other steady income from outside the country, and no plan to take a local job.

Spanish Non-Lucrative Visa (Visado de Residencia No Lucrativa)
€28,800/ year, shown — not held
Threshold, not at risk
The thing agencies don't say plainly

Most of these sums are shown, not spent.

On most remote-work and retirement routes, the figure is proof of means — it sits in your own account until it's checked, and nothing is transferred. Routes where money genuinely moves are marked below.

2

routes ask you to show a balance or income — once it's checked, it stays yours.

0

routes place capital that is exposed until the hold period or conditions are met.

Staying on

What keeping the visa actually asks of you

Renewal
Renewed periodically

Spain — Entrepreneur visa and residence authorisation (Ley 14/2013), Spain — Self-employed (cuenta propia) residence and work visa, Spanish Non-Lucrative Visa (Visado de Residencia No Lucrativa) are renewed rather than granted once. Expect each renewal to check the route's conditions again, so keep the same proof ready.

Settling for good
Both open on every route

Counted from each route's own rules. Some routes lead to permanent residence or citizenship and some don't; the route cards below say which.

Issuing authority
Unidad de Grandes Empresas y Colectivos Estratégicos (UGE/UGECE) — Ministerio de Inclusión, Seguridad Social y Migraciones (in-country residence route); consular sections of Spanish embassies, under the Ministerio de Asuntos Exteriores, Unión Europea y Cooperación (visa route abroad) / The Dirección General de Migraciones grants the authorisation under Article 76 of Ley 14/2013, and the Unidad de Grandes Empresas y Colectivos Estratégicos (UGE-CE) of the Ministerio de Inclusión, Seguridad Social y Migraciones receives and processes applications electronically; ENISA issues the mandatory favourable report on the business project; the Spanish consulate abroad issues the residence visa; the National Police issue the foreigner identity card (TIE) + 2 more
Official source
Government + processing fees
€106.08
PR / citizenship pathway
Both open on every route
Who this fits
Retirees or pre-retirees living on a pension who want to relocate to Spain without taking local work.People supporting themselves from savings, rental income, dividends, or other income earned outside Spain.Anyone who doesn't need or want any paid work while in Spain — a separate route below covers remote employees and freelancers paid from outside the country instead.
4 PROGRAMMES

Pick a route, see the real commitment

Every official figure below is what Immimaps has verified for that route against Spain's official programme rules — not a marketing minimum. Service fees are what independent firms publish for the route, shown only once five or more are on file.

Threshold, not at risk
Spain Digital Nomad Visa (Visado para Teletrabajadores de Carácter Internacional)
€2,442/ month, shown — not held

€2,442 shown as proof of means — nothing is transferred.

Service fees on fileEUR 1,000typical · middle half EUR 837–1,971 · 8 firmsmixed scope, visa application only to full package · tax included on 3 of 8, not stated on 5 · dated 2023–2026
Check a proposal for this route
Structural requirement
Spain — Entrepreneur visa and residence authorisation (Ley 14/2013)

The applicant must have sufficient economic resources for themselves and their family members for the period of residence in Spain (Article 62). The law sets no fixed amount and no minimum investment. ENISA assesses the financing of the business plan, including the investment needed and the possible funding sources (Article 70). This is money shown, not a fee.

Service fees on fileEUR 1,575typical · middle half EUR 938–2,063 · 6 firmsmixed scope, visa application only to full package · tax excluded on 3 of 6, not stated on 3 · dated 2026
Check a proposal for this route
Structural requirement
Spain — Self-employed (cuenta propia) residence and work visa

The planned investment must be sufficient to carry out the project and, where relevant, its effect on job creation including self-employment (Article 84). The regulation sets no fixed minimum amount. The Ministry names a valuation report from ATA, UPTA, CIAE, OPA or UATAE as one valid way to show it, and consulates list a business plan stating the investment, expected return and any jobs to be created. This is money shown, not a fee.

Service fees on fileEUR 700typical · middle half EUR 363–790 · 5 firmsmixed scope, visa application only to full package · tax included on 2 of 5, excluded on 1, not stated on 2 · dated 2026
Check a proposal for this route
Threshold, not at risk
Spanish Non-Lucrative Visa (Visado de Residencia No Lucrativa)
€28,800/ year, shown — not held

The main door into Spanish residency for people who won't be working here — proof of steady outside income matters more than any other part of the application.

Service fees on fileEUR 950typical · middle half EUR 725–2,475 · 7 firmsmixed scope, visa application only to full package · tax included on 3 of 7, not stated on 4 · dated 2025–2026
Check a proposal for this route
COST, STAGE BY STAGE

What each route costs, stage by stage

Added up from the official figures on file for each route — split into money spent for good, money locked and returned later, and money shown but never transferred. Not a modelled estimate.

Spain Digital Nomad Visa (Visado para Teletrabajadores de Carácter Internacional)▾

At application

Decision — reported: 1 month.
  • Spent for goodGovernment fees on file: €73.26, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Shown, never leaves you€2,442 shown as proof of means every month — nothing is transferred.
€73.26 spent for good€2,442 shown, never leaves you
Spain — Entrepreneur visa and residence authorisation (Ley 14/2013)▾

At application

  • Spent for good€16.08 fee — spent, not held.
  • Spent for good€90 fee — spent, not held.
€106.08 spent for good

Government fees not on file for this route.

Spain — Self-employed (cuenta propia) residence and work visa▾

At application

Decision — reported: 3 months.
  • Spent for good€16.08 fee — spent, not held.
  • Spent for good€10.94 fee — spent, not held.
  • Spent for good€90 fee — spent, not held.
  • Spent for good€203.84 fee — spent, not held.
€320.86 spent for good

Government fees not on file for this route.

Spanish Non-Lucrative Visa (Visado de Residencia No Lucrativa)▾

At application

Decision — reported: 1 month.
  • Spent for goodOfficial fees: €27.02, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Shown, never leaves you€28,800 shown as proof of means every year — nothing is transferred.

At renewal

Renewal — reported: 2 years.
  • Shown, never leaves you€28,800 — the same proof is shown again.
€27.02 spent for good€28,800 shown, never leaves you
The Alhambra palace and fortress complex on its hilltop above Granada, with the Sierra Nevada mountains behind it
The Alhambra, GranadaPhoto: Pincho76 / Wikimedia Commons
HOW THE PROCESS UNFOLDS

The order Spanish Non-Lucrative Visa (Visado de Residencia No Lucrativa) follows

Processing
Secretaría de Estado de Migraciones / Ministerio de Inclusión, Seguridad Social y Migraciones reviews the application and issues a decision.
reported: 1 month
Residency permit issued
Renewable.
reported: 1 year
PR-eligible
The residency permit becomes eligible to convert to permanent status.
reported: 5 years
Renewal
Renewable — Must maintain financial requirements and health insurance, and must have physically resided in Spain more than 183 days during each calendar year (1 Jan-31 Dec, not a rolling 12 months). The renewal decision is due within 3 months of filing; if that deadline passes with no decision, the renewal is deemed granted. (Real Decreto 1155/2024, in force May 2025.).
reported: 2 years
This shows the order Spanish Non-Lucrative Visa (Visado de Residencia No Lucrativa) follows, not a promised timeline. Any duration shown is what the official source reports as typical — not a guarantee for any individual case.
Did the rules change in 2026?

No confirmed rule change has been flagged for Spain since it was last checked against the official inclusion.gob.es portal on 2026-08-31. Immimaps keeps watching official immigration sources and will list dated changes here as soon as one is confirmed.

Check the inclusion.gob.es portal directly →
What would a year in Spain actually cost you?

The cost calculator separates money spent for good from money that's only shown or locked up.

Open the cost calculator
Been handed a visa package or agent's offer?

Upload it and Immimaps checks it against what Spain's official programme actually requires, and reads the contract clause by clause. Free, no account.

Check my document

Every official figure on this page is checked against Spain's official immigration sources. Service fees are what independent firms publish for a route — not an official figure, and never any one firm's price. Immimaps does not publish success rates, approval odds or any probability score — here or anywhere else.

Don’t take a life-changing move on someone else’s word.

Immimaps is not an agency and takes no placement fees. We show the real figures on every route, show the working, and tell you what it actually costs.

Get your country matches
No agency commissions · Sources shown on every figure
Get your country matches