A colonial-era street in Quito's historic center, with the Andes visible in the distance
Country guide · Ecuador · Living there long-term
Ecuador flag

Ecuador, at your own pace.

Ecuador's residence options split into a retirement route built around a foreign pension and a set of investment routes that share the same qualifying threshold but differ in where the money goes — a bank deposit, shares in a company, or real estate.

Verified against the official gob.ec portal · 2026-08-29· Photo: David Adam Kess / Wikimedia Commonsgob.ec

When rules change mid-way, the date your application is filed is what often decides which rules apply to you. Where are you right now?

Start here

Pick by how you live

4 routes, grouped by what Ecuador's system asks of you day to day — not by which visa is most talked about. Every figure below is what Immimaps has verified against Ecuador's official programme rules.

I'm retired, or nearly

A pension or other steady income from outside the country, and no plan to take a local job.

Ecuador's Retirement (Jubilado) Visa Program
$1,446/ month, shown — not held
Threshold, not at risk
The thing agencies don't say plainly

Most of these sums are shown, not spent.

On most remote-work and retirement routes, the figure is proof of means — it sits in your own account until it's checked, and nothing is transferred. Routes where money genuinely moves are marked below.

1

route asks you to show a balance or income — once it's checked, it stays yours.

2

routes place capital that is exposed until the hold period or conditions are met.

Staying on

What keeping the visa actually asks of you

Settling for good
Both open on every route

Counted from each route's own rules. Some routes lead to permanent residence or citizenship and some don't; the route cards below say which.

Issuing authority
Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Human Mobility (MREMH)
Official source
PR / citizenship pathway
Both open on every route
Who this fits
Retirees whose income comes from a pension paid from abroad, rather than active work or business income.People ready to place funds in a fixed-term bank deposit as the simplest, most liquid of the investment routes.People who would rather hold a stake in an operating Ecuadorian company than sit in a deposit or a piece of property.People already planning to buy real estate in Ecuador, who want that purchase to also carry a residence route.
4 PROGRAMMES

Pick a route, see the real commitment

Every official figure below is what Immimaps has verified for that route against Ecuador's official programme rules — not a marketing minimum. Service fees are what independent firms publish for the route, shown only once five or more are on file.

Refundable
Bank Deposit
$48,200one-time

The most liquid of the three investment options — a fixed-term deposit at a regulated bank, refundable once permanent residence is granted.

2 years holdRefundable
Service fees on fileUSD 1,350typical · middle half USD 1,150–1,475 · 6 firmsfull package · tax not stated · undated
Check a proposal for this route
Threshold, not at risk
Ecuador's Retirement (Jubilado) Visa Program
$1,446/ month, shown — not held

Built around a pension paid from abroad rather than an investment — the qualifying step is proving that income, not placing capital.

Service fees on fileUSD 1,350typical · middle half USD 1,150–1,475 · 6 firmsfull package · tax not stated · undated
Check a proposal for this route
Capital at risk
Investor Visa Company Shares
$48,200one-time

Ties residence to an ownership stake in an Ecuadorian company rather than a deposit or a property.

Service fees on fileUSD 1,400typical · middle half USD 1,100–1,500 · 5 firmsfull package · tax not stated · undated
Check a proposal for this route
Capital at risk
Investor Visa Real Estate
$48,200one-time

Ties residence to real estate registered in the applicant's own name — a fit for people already planning a property purchase.

Service fees on fileUSD 1,350typical · middle half USD 1,150–1,475 · 6 firmsfull package · tax not stated · undated
Check a proposal for this route
COST, STAGE BY STAGE

What each route costs, stage by stage

Added up from the official figures on file for each route — split into money spent for good, money locked and returned later, and money shown but never transferred. Not a modelled estimate.

Bank Deposit▾

At application

  • Spent for goodOfficial fees: $185 – $320, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Locked$48,200 placed as capital, returned after 2 years.

When the hold ends

Hold — reported: 2 years.
  • Locked$48,200 returned after 2 years.
$320 spent for good$48,200 locked (of which returned: $48,200)
Ecuador's Retirement (Jubilado) Visa Program▾

At application

  • Spent for goodGovernment fees on file: $185 – $320, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Shown, never leaves you$1,446 shown as proof of means every month — nothing is transferred.
$320 spent for good$1,446 shown, never leaves you
Investor Visa Company Shares▾

At application

Decision — reported: 3 months.
  • Spent for goodOfficial fees: $185 – $320, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Locked$48,200 placed as capital — recoverable in principle, exposed in practice.
$320 spent for good$48,200 locked
Investor Visa Real Estate▾

At application

Decision — reported: 3 months.
  • Spent for goodOfficial fees: $185 – $320, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Locked$48,200 placed as capital — recoverable in principle, exposed in practice.
$320 spent for good$48,200 locked
A colonial-era street in Quito's historic center, with the Andes visible in the distance
Calle Galápagos, Quito's historic centerPhoto: David Adam Kess / Wikimedia Commons
HOW THE PROCESS UNFOLDS

The order Ecuador's Retirement (Jubilado) Visa Program follows

Residency permit issued
Valid for the permit period.
reported: 2 years
PR-eligible
The residency permit becomes eligible to convert to permanent status.
reported: 3 years
This shows the order Ecuador's Retirement (Jubilado) Visa Program follows, not a promised timeline. Any duration shown is what the official source reports as typical — not a guarantee for any individual case.
Did the rules change in 2026?

No confirmed rule change has been flagged for Ecuador since it was last checked against the official gob.ec portal on 2026-08-29. Immimaps keeps watching official immigration sources and will list dated changes here as soon as one is confirmed.

Check the gob.ec portal directly →
What would a year in Ecuador actually cost you?

The cost calculator separates money spent for good from money that's only shown or locked up.

Open the cost calculator
Been handed a visa package or agent's offer?

Upload it and Immimaps checks it against what Ecuador's official programme actually requires, and reads the contract clause by clause. Free, no account.

Check my document

Every official figure on this page is checked against Ecuador's official immigration sources. Service fees are what independent firms publish for a route — not an official figure, and never any one firm's price. Immimaps does not publish success rates, approval odds or any probability score — here or anywhere else.

Don’t take a life-changing move on someone else’s word.

Immimaps is not an agency and takes no placement fees. We show the real figures on every route, show the working, and tell you what it actually costs.

Get your country matches
No agency commissions · Sources shown on every figure
Get your country matches