Aerial view of San José's skyline with mountains in the background
Country guide · Costa Rica · Living there long-term
Costa Rica flag

Costa Rica, at your own pace.

Costa Rica offers one of the more approachable residency landscapes in Latin America, with distinct routes for remote workers, pensioners, people living on investment or rental income, and direct investors.

Verified against the official visitcostarica.com portal · 2026-08-29· Photo: Spicypepper999 / Wikimedia Commonsvisitcostarica.com

When rules change mid-way, the date your application is filed is what often decides which rules apply to you. Where are you right now?

Start here

Pick by how you live

9 routes, grouped by what Costa Rica's system asks of you day to day — not by which visa is most talked about. Every figure below is what Immimaps has verified against Costa Rica's official programme rules.

I work remotely

Your income comes from employers or clients outside the country. You don't want a local employer, and you don't need one.

Costa Rica Digital Nomad Remote Worker Visa
$3,000 – $4,000/ month, shown — not held
Threshold, not at risk
I'm retired, or nearly

A pension or other steady income from outside the country, and no plan to take a local job.

Pensionado (Retiree) program
$1,000/ month, shown — not held
Threshold, not at risk
I can show funds or income

Routes where you prove money you hold or receive, rather than a job offer. The money is shown, not spent.

Rentista Income
$2,500/ month, shown — not held
Threshold, not at risk
The thing agencies don't say plainly

Most of these sums are shown, not spent.

On most remote-work and retirement routes, the figure is proof of means — it sits in your own account until it's checked, and nothing is transferred. Routes where money genuinely moves are marked below.

4

routes ask you to show a balance or income — once it's checked, it stays yours.

3

routes place capital that is exposed until the hold period or conditions are met.

Staying on

What keeping the visa actually asks of you

Renewal
Renewed periodically

Costa Rica Employee Residency (Trabajador Dependiente), Costa Rica Student Residency (Categoría Especial de Estudiante) are renewed rather than granted once. Expect each renewal to check the route's conditions again, so keep the same proof ready.

Settling for good
PR on 7/9 routes · Citizenship on 7/9

Counted from each route's own rules. Some routes lead to permanent residence or citizenship and some don't; the route cards below say which.

Issuing authority
Dirección General de Migración y Extranjería (DGME) / Dirección General de Migración y Extranjería (DGME); Ministerio de Trabajo y Seguridad Social (MTSS) + 1 more
Official source
PR / citizenship pathway
PR on 7/9 routes · Citizenship on 7/9
Who this fits
Remote employees and freelancers whose clients or employer are based outside Costa Rica.Retirees with a guaranteed pension who want a warm-climate, low-bureaucracy base.People with savings or passive income who can commit to holding funds locally for a set period.Investors willing to put capital into local real estate, business, or forestry projects and keep it in place through the residency process.
9 PROGRAMMES

Pick a route, see the real commitment

Every official figure below is what Immimaps has verified for that route against Costa Rica's official programme rules — not a marketing minimum. Service fees are what independent firms publish for the route, shown only once five or more are on file.

Threshold, not at risk
Costa Rica Digital Nomad Remote Worker Visa
$3,000 – $4,000/ month, shown — not held

Built specifically for people working for employers or clients based outside the country — the fastest route to a decision on this list.

Depends on the option chosen
Service fees on fileBenchmark coming soon
Check a proposal for this route
Structural requirement
Costa Rica Employee Residency (Trabajador Dependiente)

For people taking up direct employment with a Costa Rican employer under a formal work contract.

Service fees on fileBenchmark coming soon
Check a proposal for this route
Structural requirement
Costa Rica Family Reunification Residency (Residencia por Vínculo Familiar)

For close family members of a Costa Rican citizen or resident.

Service fees on fileBenchmark coming soon
Check a proposal for this route
Threshold, not at risk
Costa Rica Student Residency (Categoría Especial de Estudiante)

For full-time students enrolled at a recognized Costa Rican institution, renewed annually alongside the study program.

Service fees on fileBenchmark coming soon
Check a proposal for this route
Capital at risk
Inversionista Forestry
$100,000one-time

A lower-threshold investor route tied specifically to an approved forestry or reforestation project.

3 years hold
Service fees on fileBenchmark coming soon
Check a proposal for this route
Capital at risk
Inversionista General
$100,000 – $150,000one-time

The general investor route, open to real estate, business, and several other qualifying investment types, with the investment held through the process.

Depends on the option chosen3 years hold
Service fees on fileUSD 1,600–10,000lowest to highest · 4 firms on filefull package · tax not stated · undated
Check a proposal for this route
Threshold, not at risk
Pensionado (Retiree) program
$1,000/ month, shown — not held

For people with a lifetime pension guaranteed to continue for life — multiple pensions can be combined to meet the threshold.

Service fees on fileUSD 950–10,000lowest to highest · 4 firms on filefull package · tax not stated · dated 2026
Check a proposal for this route
Capital at risk
Rentista Bank Deposit
$60,000one-time

A structured-deposit alternative to the income route; recent rule changes mean the deposit has to generate real interest rather than just being drawn down month by month.

Service fees on fileBenchmark coming soon
Check a proposal for this route
Threshold, not at risk
Rentista Income
$2,500/ month, shown — not held

Passive income only — simple bank savings do not qualify under current rules, so the income source needs to be genuinely recurring.

Service fees on fileUSD 1,600–10,000lowest to highest · 4 firms on filefull package · tax not stated · undated
Check a proposal for this route
COST, STAGE BY STAGE

What each route costs, stage by stage

Added up from the official figures on file for each route — split into money spent for good, money locked and returned later, and money shown but never transferred. Not a modelled estimate.

Costa Rica Digital Nomad Remote Worker Visa▾

At application

Decision — reported: 1 month.
  • Spent for goodOfficial fees: $100, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Shown, never leaves you$3,000 shown as proof of means every month — nothing is transferred.
$100 spent for good$3,000 shown, never leaves you

2 ways to qualify — shown: the cheapest. Alternatives: $3,000 (shown) / $4,000.

Costa Rica Employee Residency (Trabajador Dependiente)▾

At application

Decision — reported: 3 months.
  • Spent for goodEstimated government fees, shown not graded: $400 – $600, paid to the government for the initial application.
$600 spent for good
Costa Rica Family Reunification Residency (Residencia por Vínculo Familiar)▾

At application

Decision — reported: 10 months.
  • Spent for goodGovernment fees on file: $145 – $183, paid to the government for the initial application.
$183 spent for good
Costa Rica Student Residency (Categoría Especial de Estudiante)▾

At application

Decision — reported: 1 month.
  • Spent for goodGovernment fees on file: $103 – $133, paid to the government for the initial application.
$133 spent for good
Inversionista Forestry▾

At application

Decision — reported: 9 months.
  • Spent for goodEstimated government fees, shown not graded: $523 – $2,815, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Locked$100,000 placed as capital — recoverable in principle, exposed in practice.
$2,815 spent for good$100,000 locked
Inversionista General▾

At application

Decision — reported: 9 months.
  • Spent for goodEstimated government fees, shown not graded: $70, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Locked$100,000 placed as capital — recoverable in principle, exposed in practice.
$70 spent for good$100,000 locked

2 ways to qualify — shown: the cheapest. Alternatives: $150,000 / $100,000 (shown).

Pensionado (Retiree) program▾

At application

  • Spent for goodGovernment fees on file: $679, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Shown, never leaves you$1,000 shown as proof of means every month — nothing is transferred.
$679 spent for good$1,000 shown, never leaves you
Rentista Bank Deposit▾

At application

Decision — reported: 1 year.
  • Spent for goodOfficial fees: $200, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Locked$60,000 placed as capital — recoverable in principle, exposed in practice.
$200 spent for good$60,000 locked
Rentista Income▾

At application

Decision — reported: 1 year.
  • Spent for goodGovernment fees on file: $379, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Shown, never leaves you$2,500 shown as proof of means every month — nothing is transferred.
$379 spent for good$2,500 shown, never leaves you
Aerial view of San José's skyline with mountains in the background
San José, Costa Rica's capitalPhoto: Spicypepper999 / Wikimedia Commons
HOW THE PROCESS UNFOLDS

The order Pensionado (Retiree) program follows

Residency permit issued
Valid for the permit period.
reported: 2 years
PR-eligible
The residency permit becomes eligible to convert to permanent status.
reported: 3 years
Citizenship-eligible
Eligible to apply for citizenship, subject to the country's standard requirements.
reported: 7 years
This shows the order Pensionado (Retiree) program follows, not a promised timeline. Any duration shown is what the official source reports as typical — not a guarantee for any individual case.
Did the rules change in 2026?

No confirmed rule change has been flagged for Costa Rica since it was last checked against the official visitcostarica.com portal on 2026-08-29. Immimaps keeps watching official immigration sources and will list dated changes here as soon as one is confirmed.

Check the visitcostarica.com portal directly →
What would a year in Costa Rica actually cost you?

The cost calculator separates money spent for good from money that's only shown or locked up.

Open the cost calculator
Been handed a visa package or agent's offer?

Upload it and Immimaps checks it against what Costa Rica's official programme actually requires, and reads the contract clause by clause. Free, no account.

Check my document

Every official figure on this page is checked against Costa Rica's official immigration sources. Service fees are what independent firms publish for a route — not an official figure, and never any one firm's price. Immimaps does not publish success rates, approval odds or any probability score — here or anywhere else.

Don’t take a life-changing move on someone else’s word.

Immimaps is not an agency and takes no placement fees. We show the real figures on every route, show the working, and tell you what it actually costs.

Get your country matches
No agency commissions · Sources shown on every figure
Get your country matches