Rule changes
  • Since 1 April 2026, an amount update set by formula: the visitor visa fees were updated.
  • Since 1 January 2026, an amount update set by formula: the rentista income bar rose with the 2026 minimum wage.
Skyline of Cartagena's old town seen from the historic city walls
Country guide · Colombia · Living there long-term
Colombia flag

Colombia, at your own pace.

Colombia's residency system runs on a small set of visa types, each tied to a specific source of income or type of investment rather than a general points system.

Verified against the official suin-juriscol.gov.co portal · 2026-08-29· Photo: Uhkabu / Wikimedia Commonssuin-juriscol.gov.co

When rules change mid-way, the date your application is filed is what often decides which rules apply to you. Where are you right now?

Start here

Pick by how you live

10 routes, grouped by what Colombia's system asks of you day to day — not by which visa is most talked about. Every figure below is what Immimaps has verified against Colombia's official programme rules.

I work remotely

Your income comes from employers or clients outside the country. You don't want a local employer, and you don't need one.

Colombia Digital Nomad Visa (V-Nómadas Digitales)
COP 5,252,715/ month, shown — not held
Threshold, not at risk
I'm retired, or nearly

A pension or other steady income from outside the country, and no plan to take a local job.

M-11 Pensionado Visa
COP 5,252,715/ month, shown — not held
Threshold, not at risk
I can show funds or income

Routes where you prove money you hold or receive, rather than a job offer. The money is shown, not spent.

Colombia Passive Income Visa (V-Rentista)
COP 17,509,050/ month, shown — not held
Threshold, not at risk
The thing agencies don't say plainly

Most of these sums are shown, not spent.

On most remote-work and retirement routes, the figure is proof of means — it sits in your own account until it's checked, and nothing is transferred. Routes where money genuinely moves are marked below.

5

routes ask you to show a balance or income — once it's checked, it stays yours.

2

routes place capital that is exposed until the hold period or conditions are met.

Staying on

What keeping the visa actually asks of you

Settling for good
PR on 7/10 routes · Citizenship on 7/10

Counted from each route's own rules. Some routes lead to permanent residence or citizenship and some don't; the route cards below say which.

Issuing authority
Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores (Cancillería de Colombia) / Migración Colombia / Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores (Cancillería) + 4 more
Official source
PR / citizenship pathway
PR on 7/10 routes · Citizenship on 7/10
Who this fits
Remote workers or freelancers paid by clients or employers outside ColombiaRetirees with a qualifying pensionPeople living on steady passive income from investments, rent, or dividendsInvestors buying property or putting capital into a Colombian business
10 PROGRAMMES

Pick a route, see the real commitment

Every official figure below is what Immimaps has verified for that route against Colombia's official programme rules — not a marketing minimum. Service fees are what independent firms publish for the route, shown only once five or more are on file.

Threshold, not at risk
Colombia Digital Nomad Visa (V-Nómadas Digitales)
COP 5,252,715/ month, shown — not held

For remote workers and freelancers paid by clients or employers outside Colombia — income has to be consistent month to month, not just averaged over a longer stretch.

Service fees on fileUSD 638typical · middle half USD 494–875 · 6 firmsfull package · tax not stated · dated 2026
Check a proposal for this route
Threshold, not at risk
Colombia M Visa — Independent Professional (Profesional Independiente)
COP 8,754,525/ month, shown — not held

COP 8,754,525 shown as proof of means — nothing is transferred.

Service fees on fileBenchmark coming soon
Check a proposal for this route
Threshold, not at risk
Colombia Passive Income Visa (V-Rentista)
COP 17,509,050/ month, shown — not held

For people living on steady passive income such as rent, dividends, or interest rather than a pension or salary — each month's deposit has to individually clear the bar, so averaging isn't accepted.

Service fees on fileUSD 350–650lowest to highest · 3 firms on filefull package · tax not stated · dated 2026
Check a proposal for this route
Structural requirement
Colombia Resident Visa by Accumulated Time (R – Tiempo Acumulado)

No minimum income amount is prescribed by Resolution 5477/2022 for the accumulated time R visa pathway. Applicants must submit a letter explaining their source of income and financial capacity to support themselves and any dependents. The authority may consider financial sufficiency as part of its discretionary assessment.

Service fees on fileUSD 838typical · middle half USD 550–840 · 5 firmsfull package · tax not stated · dated 2025–2026
Check a proposal for this route
Threshold, not at risk
Colombia Student Visa (V-Estudiante)
COP 17,509,050/ month, shown — not held

COP 17,509,050 shown as proof of means — nothing is transferred.

Service fees on fileBenchmark coming soon
Check a proposal for this route
Structural requirement
Colombia Type M Visa – Cónyuge de Nacional Colombiano (Spouse of Colombian National)

The route for joining a Colombian spouse or permanent partner — among the more direct paths toward permanent residency and citizenship.

Service fees on fileBenchmark coming soon
Check a proposal for this route
Structural requirement
M Visa (Migrant Visa)

- Minimum Education Level: Copy of apostilled/legalized professional degree if the profession is unregulated. - Employer Requirements: A motivation letter from the employer is required, stating the suitability, functions, foreign national's qualifications, reasons for not hiring a Colombian citizen, and the number of direct jobs created by the company

Service fees on fileUSD 650typical · middle half USD 626–748 · 5 firmsfull package · tax not stated · dated 2026
Check a proposal for this route
Capital at risk
M-10 Real Estate Investment
$168,000one-time

The direct route for buying Colombian property as an investment — the purchase has to be registered as foreign investment with Colombia's central bank to count.

5 years hold
Service fees on fileUSD 888typical · middle half USD 707–1,162 · 6 firmsfull package · tax not stated · dated 2026
Check a proposal for this route
Threshold, not at risk
M-11 Pensionado Visa
COP 5,252,715/ month, shown — not held

Built for retirees living on a qualifying pension — investment income and savings withdrawals don't count, only recognized pension payments.

Service fees on fileUSD 800typical · middle half USD 729–1,350 · 5 firmsfull package · tax not stated · undated
Check a proposal for this route
Capital at risk
M-6 Business Investment
$44,000one-time

For starting or buying into a Colombian business, with the investment expected to stay in place and the business to keep operating for the life of the visa.

5 years hold
Service fees on fileUSD 888typical · middle half USD 670–1,162 · 6 firmsfull package · tax not stated · dated 2026
Check a proposal for this route
COST, STAGE BY STAGE

What each route costs, stage by stage

Added up from the official figures on file for each route — split into money spent for good, money locked and returned later, and money shown but never transferred. Not a modelled estimate.

Colombia Digital Nomad Visa (V-Nómadas Digitales)▾

At application

Decision — reported: 1 month.
  • Spent for goodGovernment fees on file: $294, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Shown, never leaves youCOP 5,252,715 shown as proof of means every month — nothing is transferred.
COP 5,252,715 shown, never leaves you
$294 spent for good

Figures in more than one currency; not added together.

Colombia M Visa — Independent Professional (Profesional Independiente)▾

At application

Decision — reported: 1 month.
  • Spent for goodGovernment fees on file: $411, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Shown, never leaves youCOP 8,754,525 shown as proof of means every month — nothing is transferred.
COP 8,754,525 shown, never leaves you
$411 spent for good

Figures in more than one currency; not added together.

Colombia Passive Income Visa (V-Rentista)▾

At application

  • Spent for goodOfficial fees: $194, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Shown, never leaves youCOP 17,509,050 shown as proof of means every month — nothing is transferred.
COP 17,509,050 shown, never leaves you
$194 spent for good

Figures in more than one currency; not added together.

Colombia Resident Visa by Accumulated Time (R – Tiempo Acumulado)▾

At application

Decision — reported: 1 month.
  • Spent for goodGovernment fees on file: $416 – $426, paid to the government for the initial application.
$426 spent for good
Colombia Student Visa (V-Estudiante)▾

At application

Decision — reported: 1 month.
  • Spent for goodGovernment fees on file: $116, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Shown, never leaves youCOP 17,509,050 shown as proof of means every month — nothing is transferred.
COP 17,509,050 shown, never leaves you
$116 spent for good

Figures in more than one currency; not added together.

Colombia Type M Visa – Cónyuge de Nacional Colombiano (Spouse of Colombian National)▾

At application

Decision — reported: 1 month.
  • Spent for goodGovernment fees on file: $335, paid to the government for the initial application.
$335 spent for good
M Visa (Migrant Visa)▾

At application

Decision — reported: 1 month.
  • Spent for goodGovernment fees on file: $410, paid to the government for the initial application.
$410 spent for good
M-10 Real Estate Investment▾

At application

Decision — reported: 1 month.
  • Spent for goodGovernment fees on file: $410, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Locked$168,000 placed as capital — recoverable in principle, exposed in practice.
$410 spent for good$168,000 locked
M-11 Pensionado Visa▾

At application

  • Spent for goodGovernment fees on file: $410, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Shown, never leaves youCOP 5,252,715 shown as proof of means every month — nothing is transferred.
COP 5,252,715 shown, never leaves you
$410 spent for good

Figures in more than one currency; not added together.

M-6 Business Investment▾

At application

Decision — reported: 1 month.
  • Spent for goodGovernment fees on file: $410, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Locked$44,000 placed as capital — recoverable in principle, exposed in practice.
$410 spent for good$44,000 locked
Skyline of Cartagena's old town seen from the historic city walls
Cartagena, from the old city wallsPhoto: Uhkabu / Wikimedia Commons
HOW THE PROCESS UNFOLDS

The order M-11 Pensionado Visa follows

Residency permit issued
Renewable.
reported: 3 years
PR-eligible
The residency permit becomes eligible to convert to permanent status.
reported: 5 years
Citizenship-eligible
Eligible to apply for citizenship, subject to the country's standard requirements.
reported: 10 years
This shows the order M-11 Pensionado Visa follows, not a promised timeline. Any duration shown is what the official source reports as typical — not a guarantee for any individual case.
Did the rules change in 2026?

No confirmed rule change has been flagged for Colombia since it was last checked against the official suin-juriscol.gov.co portal on 2026-08-29. Immimaps keeps watching official immigration sources and will list dated changes here as soon as one is confirmed.

Check the suin-juriscol.gov.co portal directly →
What would a year in Colombia actually cost you?

The cost calculator separates money spent for good from money that's only shown or locked up.

Open the cost calculator
Been handed a visa package or agent's offer?

Upload it and Immimaps checks it against what Colombia's official programme actually requires, and reads the contract clause by clause. Free, no account.

Check my document

Every official figure on this page is checked against Colombia's official immigration sources. Service fees are what independent firms publish for a route — not an official figure, and never any one firm's price. Immimaps does not publish success rates, approval odds or any probability score — here or anywhere else.

Don’t take a life-changing move on someone else’s word.

Immimaps is not an agency and takes no placement fees. We show the real figures on every route, show the working, and tell you what it actually costs.

Get your country matches
No agency commissions · Sources shown on every figure
Get your country matches