Looking for a retirement visa? Canada doesn't offer one — its immigration routes are all built around work experience and points. See other countries' guides

Toronto skyline of downtown skyscrapers seen across the water in daylight
Country guide · Canada · Skilled work
Canada flag

Working in Canada: do you qualify?

A points-based system that rewards skilled work experience, with a clear route to permanent residence.

Job offer required
1 of 5 routes
Capital required
None, on any route
Permanent residence
Open on all 5 routes
Citizenship-eligible
3 yearsreported
Verified against the official canada.ca portal · 2026-08-29· Photo: Christine Wagner / Wikimedia Commonscanada.ca

When rules change mid-way, the date your application is filed is what often decides which rules apply to you. Where are you right now?

WHICH DOOR IS YOURS?

Two ways in, and Canada checks them differently

Backed by a sponsor

An employer, a government nomination or an approved body puts its name behind the application.

  • Provincial Nominee Program (PNP)
Applied for on your own

You qualify on your own record — skills, points or capital — with no sponsor standing behind you.

  • Express Entry - Canadian Experience Class
  • Express Entry - Federal Skilled Trades ProgramCA$15,263
  • Express Entry - Federal Skilled Worker ProgramCA$15,263 – CA$40,392
WHAT CANADA ACTUALLY CHECKS

The conditions behind the routes above

Occupation & skills

Your degree, work experience or occupation has to clear a bar set for that specific route.

2 of 5 routes
Canada Spousal / Common-Law Partner Sponsorship for Permanent ResidenceExpress Entry - Canadian Experience Class
Issuing authority
Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC); Ministère de l'Immigration, de la Francisation et de l'Intégration (MIFI) / Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada
Official source
Government + processing fees
CA$1,345
PR / citizenship pathway
Both open on every route
Who this fits
Skilled workers with foreign or Canadian work experience in an in-demand occupation.Tradespeople with certified experience in a skilled trade.People with recent Canadian work experience gained on a temporary permit.Applicants willing to be nominated by a specific province in exchange for a faster path.
5 PROGRAMMES

Pick a route, see the real commitment

Every official figure below is what Immimaps has verified for that route against Canada's official programme rules — not a marketing minimum. Service fees are what independent firms publish for the route, shown only once five or more are on file.

Structural requirement
Canada Spousal / Common-Law Partner Sponsorship for Permanent Residence

Relationship qualification -- one of the three must be met: legal marriage (spouse); 12 months' continuous cohabitation in a conjugal relationship (common-law partner); or, only where cohabitation was not possible and the partner resides outside Canada, 12 months in a conjugal relationship (conjugal partner). Excludes bad-faith or non-genuine relationships, parties under 18, existing marriages to another person, and non-physically-present ("proxy") marriages outside the Canadian Forces exception. IRPR s. 1(1), ss. 4, 4.1, 5.

Service fees on fileCAD 3,750typical · middle half CAD 3,500–4,000 · 5 firmsfull package · tax not stated · dated 2026
Check a proposal for this route
Structural requirement
Express Entry - Canadian Experience Class

For people who already have recent skilled work experience inside Canada, often gained on a study or work permit.

Service fees on fileCAD 3,500typical · middle half CAD 2,375–4,250 · 9 firmsfull package · tax excluded on 2 of 9, not stated on 7 · dated 2019–2026
Check a proposal for this route
Threshold, not at risk
Express Entry - Federal Skilled Trades Program
CA$15,263one-time, shown — not held

For certified tradespeople with qualifying experience in a skilled trade, assessed separately from office-based occupations.

Service fees on fileBenchmark coming soon
Check a proposal for this route
Threshold, not at risk
Express Entry - Federal Skilled Worker Program
CA$15,263 – CA$40,392one-time, shown — not held

The general route for skilled workers with experience gained outside Canada.

Depends on the option chosen
Service fees on fileCAD 3,500typical · middle half CAD 2,500–4,250 · 9 firmsfull package · tax excluded on 2 of 9, not stated on 7 · dated 2019–2026
Check a proposal for this route
Structural requirement
Provincial Nominee Program (PNP)

A province nominates the candidate based on its own labour needs, which can significantly improve ranking in the pool.

Service fees on fileCAD 4,000typical · middle half CAD 3,250–5,000 · 5 firmsfull package · tax not stated · dated 2026
Check a proposal for this route
COST, STAGE BY STAGE

What each route costs, stage by stage

Added up from the official figures on file for each route — split into money spent for good, money locked and returned later, and money shown but never transferred. Not a modelled estimate.

Canada Spousal / Common-Law Partner Sponsorship for Permanent Residence▾

At application

Decision — reported: 1 year, 6 months.
  • Spent for goodOfficial fees: CA$1,345, paid to the government for the initial application.
CA$1,345 spent for good
Express Entry - Canadian Experience Class▾

At application

Decision — reported: 6 months.
  • Spent for goodOfficial fees: CA$1,675, paid to the government for the initial application.
CA$1,675 spent for good
Express Entry - Federal Skilled Trades Program▾

At application

Decision — reported: 6 months.
  • Spent for goodGovernment fees on file: CA$1,675, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Shown, never leaves youCA$15,263 shown as proof of means — nothing is transferred.
CA$1,675 spent for goodCA$15,263 shown, never leaves you
Express Entry - Federal Skilled Worker Program▾

At application

Decision — reported: 6 months.
  • Spent for goodGovernment fees on file: CA$1,590 – CA$1,675, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Shown, never leaves youCA$15,263 shown as proof of means — nothing is transferred.
CA$1,675 spent for goodCA$15,263 shown, never leaves you

7 ways to qualify — shown: the cheapest. Alternatives: CA$15,263 (shown) / CA$19,001 / CA$23,360 / CA$28,362 / CA$32,168 / CA$36,280 / CA$40,392.

Provincial Nominee Program (PNP)▾

At application

Decision — reported: 7 months.
  • Spent for goodGovernment fees on file: CA$1,675, paid to the government for the initial application.
CA$1,675 spent for good
Toronto skyline of downtown skyscrapers seen across the water in daylight
Downtown TorontoPhoto: Christine Wagner / Wikimedia Commons
HOW THE PROCESS UNFOLDS

The order Provincial Nominee Program (PNP) follows

01
Processing
Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada reviews the application and issues a decision.
reported: 7 months
02
PR-eligible
The residency permit becomes eligible to convert to permanent status.
reported: 0 months
03
Citizenship-eligible
Eligible to apply for citizenship, subject to the country's standard requirements.
reported: 3 years
This shows the order Provincial Nominee Program (PNP) follows, not a promised timeline. Any duration shown is what the official source reports as typical — not a guarantee for any individual case.
Did the rules change in 2026? Yes.
  • 2026-02-18Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada revised its list of Express Entry priority categories for the year, adding categories for physicians, senior managers and transport-sector workers with Canadian experience, retiring the agriculture and agri-food category, and raising the minimum qualifying work experience for these targeted categories. source
Check the canada.ca portal directly →
Not sure which of the five you'd clear?

Strategy Path takes your occupation, your situation and whether you have an employer, and lays the route out step by step — cost, milestone and wait on each leg.

Map my routeAccount needed
Already holding a job offer or an agent's proposal?

Upload it and Immimaps checks it against what Canada's official programme actually requires, and reads the contract clause by clause. Free, no account.

Check my document
Working with an agent or adviser in Canada?

Verify them on the official register before you sign anything. Registration confirms a licence — it does not by itself guarantee good advice, so check the document you were given either way.

Every official figure on this page is checked against Canada's official immigration sources. Service fees are what independent firms publish for a route — not an official figure, and never any one firm's price. Immimaps does not publish success rates, approval odds or any probability score — here or anywhere else.

Don’t take a life-changing move on someone else’s word.

Immimaps is not an agency and takes no placement fees. We show the real figures on every route, show the working, and tell you what it actually costs.

Get your country matches
No agency commissions · Sources shown on every figure
Get your country matches