Looking for a retirement visa? Australia doesn't run one — its routes are all built around skills and employer sponsorship. See other countries' guides

The Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge at dusk, seen across the harbour
Country guide · Australia · Skilled work
Australia flag

Working in Australia: do you qualify?

Four skilled and employer-sponsored routes — each is about the job or the skill set, not a sum of money.

Job offer required
3 of 6 routes
Capital required
None, on any route
Permanent residence
Open on 5 of 6 routes
Citizenship-eligible
4 yearsreported
Verified against the official immi.homeaffairs.gov.au portal · 2026-08-29· Photo: Benh LIEU SONG / Wikimedia Commonsimmi.homeaffairs.gov.au

When rules change mid-way, the date your application is filed is what often decides which rules apply to you. Where are you right now?

WHICH DOOR IS YOURS?

Two ways in, and Australia checks them differently

Backed by a sponsor

An employer, a government nomination or an approved body puts its name behind the application.

  • Employer Nomination Scheme (Subclass 186)
  • Skilled Nominated Visa (Subclass 190)
  • Skills in Demand Visa (Subclass 482)A$79,423
Applied for on your own

You qualify on your own record — skills, points or capital — with no sponsor standing behind you.

  • Skilled Independent Visa (Subclass 189)
WHAT AUSTRALIA ACTUALLY CHECKS

The conditions behind the routes above

Occupation & skills

Your degree, work experience or occupation has to clear a bar set for that specific route.

2 of 6 routes
Skilled Independent Visa (Subclass 189)Skilled Nominated Visa (Subclass 190)
Points test

Age, education, experience and language each add up to a score — you need to clear the pass mark.

1 of 6 routes
Skilled Independent Visa (Subclass 189)
Who backs the application

An employer, a government nomination, or an approved endorsing body has to stand behind the route.

4 of 6 routes
Employer Nomination Scheme (Subclass 186)Skilled Independent Visa (Subclass 189)Skilled Nominated Visa (Subclass 190)Skills in Demand Visa (Subclass 482)
Issuing authority
Department of Home Affairs / Department of Home Affairs (Australian Border Force / Immigration and Citizenship group), under the Minister for Home Affairs
Government + processing fees
A$11,710
PR / citizenship pathway
PR on 5/6 routes · Citizenship on 5/6
Who this fits
Skilled workers with an occupation on Australia's in-demand list, applying without needing a specific employer lined up.Workers who already have an Australian employer willing to nominate or sponsor them.People currently on a temporary skilled visa in Australia and looking to convert that into permanent residence through their employer.People weighing state nomination against a fully independent skilled application, since the nominated route can open occupations the independent list doesn't cover.
6 PROGRAMMES

Pick a route, see the real commitment

Every official figure below is what Immimaps has verified for that route against Australia's official programme rules — not a marketing minimum. Service fees are what independent firms publish for the route, shown only once five or more are on file.

Structural requirement
Australia Partner Visa (Subclass 820/801 onshore and Subclass 309/100 offshore)

The Minister must weigh the financial, household, social and commitment aspects of the relationship for both spouse (reg 1.15A(3)) and de facto (reg 1.09A(3)) applications -- an identical test: joint ownership of assets and pooled finances; joint responsibility for children, living arrangements and housework; how the couple present themselves to others; and the duration and nature of their commitment.

Service fees on fileAUD 5,300typical · middle half AUD 4,913–6,250 · 6 firmsmixed scope · tax included on 1 of 6, excluded on 3, not stated on 2 · dated 2025–2026
Threshold, not at risk
Australia Working Holiday Visa (Subclass 417)
A$5,000one-time, shown — not held

A$5,000 shown as proof of means — nothing is transferred.

Service fees on fileBenchmark coming soon
Jobs, not capital
Employer Nomination Scheme (Subclass 186)

A direct-entry, employer-sponsored route to permanent residence — the employer nominates the worker rather than the worker applying independently.

Service fees on fileAUD 6,500typical · middle half AUD 5,775–6,900 · 7 firmsfull package · tax included on 1 of 7, excluded on 3, not stated on 3 · dated 2025–2026
Structural requirement
Skilled Independent Visa (Subclass 189)

Fully independent — no employer, no state nomination, just the applicant's own occupation and points-test standing.

Service fees on fileAUD 4,000typical · middle half AUD 3,325–4,600 · 7 firmsmixed scope, visa application only to expression of interest plus visa · tax excluded on 1 of 7, not stated on 6 · dated 2026
Jobs, not capital
Skilled Nominated Visa (Subclass 190)

Similar to the independent route, but a state or territory nominates the applicant, which can open up occupations the independent list doesn't cover.

Service fees on fileAUD 4,000typical · middle half AUD 3,325–4,600 · 7 firmsmixed scope, visa application only to expression of interest plus visa · tax excluded on 1 of 7, not stated on 6 · dated 2026
Threshold, not at risk
Skills in Demand Visa (Subclass 482)
A$79,423/ year, shown — not held

A temporary, employer-sponsored visa that can lead toward one of the permanent routes rather than granting permanent residence outright.

Service fees on fileAUD 4,000typical · middle half AUD 3,250–6,050 · 9 firmsmixed scope, visa application only to full package · tax excluded on 6 of 12, not stated on 6 · dated 2025–2026
COST, STAGE BY STAGE

What each route costs, stage by stage

Added up from the official figures on file for each route — split into money spent for good, money locked and returned later, and money shown but never transferred. Not a modelled estimate.

Australia Partner Visa (Subclass 820/801 onshore and Subclass 309/100 offshore)▾

At application

Decision — reported: 8 months.
  • Spent for goodOfficial fees: A$9,600 – A$11,710, paid to the government for the initial application.
A$11,710 spent for good
Australia Working Holiday Visa (Subclass 417)▾

At application

  • Spent for goodOfficial fees: A$840 – A$1,000, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Shown, never leaves youA$5,000 shown as proof of means — nothing is transferred.
A$1,000 spent for goodA$5,000 shown, never leaves you

2 ways to qualify — shown: the cheapest. Alternatives: A$840 (shown) / A$1,000.

Employer Nomination Scheme (Subclass 186)▾

At application

Decision — reported: 1 year, 1 month.
  • Spent for goodGovernment fees on file: A$6,140, paid to the government for the initial application.
A$6,140 spent for good
Skilled Independent Visa (Subclass 189)▾

At application

Decision — reported: 4 months.
  • Spent for goodGovernment fees on file: A$6,135, paid to the government for the initial application.
A$6,135 spent for good
Skilled Nominated Visa (Subclass 190)▾

At application

Decision — reported: 7 months.
  • Spent for goodGovernment fees on file: A$6,140, paid to the government for the initial application.
A$6,140 spent for good
Skills in Demand Visa (Subclass 482)▾

At application

Decision — reported: 1 month.
  • Spent for goodGovernment fees on file: A$4,015, paid to the government for the initial application.
  • Shown, never leaves youA$79,423 shown as proof of means every year — nothing is transferred.
A$4,015 spent for goodA$79,423 shown, never leaves you
The Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge at dusk, seen across the harbour
Sydney Opera House and Harbour BridgePhoto: Benh LIEU SONG / Wikimedia Commons
HOW THE PROCESS UNFOLDS

The order Employer Nomination Scheme (Subclass 186) follows

01
Processing
Department of Home Affairs reviews the application and issues a decision.
reported: 1 year, 1 month
02
PR-eligible
The residency permit becomes eligible to convert to permanent status.
reported: 0 months
03
Citizenship-eligible
Eligible to apply for citizenship, subject to the country's standard requirements.
reported: 4 years
This shows the order Employer Nomination Scheme (Subclass 186) follows, not a promised timeline. Any duration shown is what the official source reports as typical — not a guarantee for any individual case.
Did the rules change in 2026? Yes.
  • 2026-07-25From 25 July 2026, a new government processing direction (Ministerial Direction 119) changed how skilled and employer-sponsored applications are prioritised, favouring applicants already in Australia and certain occupations such as healthcare, teaching, construction, law enforcement and defence. source
Check the immi.homeaffairs.gov.au portal directly →
Not sure which of the six you'd clear?

Strategy Path takes your occupation, your situation and whether you have an employer, and lays the route out step by step — cost, milestone and wait on each leg.

Map my routeAccount needed
General information only

This page sets out the published rules. It does not read your documents or check your figures: advice on your own application should come from a registered migration agent or a lawyer.

To check that an adviser is registered, use the register of migration agents.

Working with an agent or adviser in Australia?

Verify them on the official register before you sign anything. Registration confirms a licence — it does not by itself guarantee good advice.

Every official figure on this page is checked against Australia's official immigration sources. Service fees are what independent firms publish for a route — not an official figure, and never any one firm's price. Immimaps does not publish success rates, approval odds or any probability score — here or anywhere else.

Don’t take a life-changing move on someone else’s word.

Immimaps is not an agency and takes no placement fees. We show the real figures on every route, show the working, and tell you what it actually costs.

Get your country matches
No agency commissions · Sources shown on every figure
Get your country matches